Afghan Government Releases Peace Team List

Written by  Manager2
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Saturday, March 28, 2020 Kabul (BNA) Afghan government on Wednesday, released a list of up to 20 delegate to hold a direct peace talk with the Taliban, a statement from The Presidential Palace said Friday. Former spy chief, Massoum Stanekzay would lead the negotiating team that includes 14 men, including the offspring of the two key warlords, Gen. Abdul Rashid Dostum, former first-vice president and Ata Mohammad Noor, former Balkh Governor, and five women, according to the statement. Massoum Stanekzay, the former chief of National Directorate of Security (NDS), Nader Naderi, Chairman of the Independent Administrative Reform and Civil Service Commission (IARCSC), Matin Bek, the head of the Independent Directorate of Local Governance (IDLG), Habiba Sarabi, the deputy head of the High Peace Council (HPC), Abdul Hadi Arghandiwal, the former Minister of Economy, Khalid Noor, son of former Balkh governor Atta Mohammad Noor, Kalimullah Naqibi, the deputy head of Jamiat-e-Islami party, Rassoul Talib, adviser to the president and Enayatullah Baligh, the presidential religious advisor and a member of the Ulama Council are the negotiating team members representing the government in peace talks with the Taliban. Other members of the team probably close to Ghani’s rival, Dr. Abdullah, included Shahla Fareed, a university lecturer, Mohammad Natiqi, the former chairman of the Committee of Political Parties and Political Movements, Abdul Hafiz Mansour, a former member of the parliament, Zaynab Muahhed, a member of Jamiat-e-Islami, Batur Dostum, the son of former first vice president Abdul Rashid Dostum and Dr. Amin Ahmadi, a university lecturer. Another member, Amin Karim will also represent the Hizb-e-Islami party of Gulbuddin Hekmatyar in the delegation. Zarar Ahmad Moqbel, the former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Zakia Wardak, the director of the Society of Afghan Women in Engineering and Construction and Ayoub Ansari, the former police commander of Herat, are also parts the team. The statement said the team was appointed after ‘much deliberation and consultation with all parties and influential segments of society,’ to advance peace talks with the Taliban. “The President of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan wishes the delegation success and calls on them to consider, at all stages of negotiations, the best interest of the country, the shared values of the Afghan people, and the principle stand of the country for a united Afghanistan, and strive for lasting peace and stability in the country,” said the statement said. Meantime, Abdul Salam Rahimi, the Special Representative of the President and the State Minister for Peace said that the ministry will manage all decision-making mechanism on behalf of the government and facilitate and support the progression of the peace process. Yarzada
back to top