19 October 2019

RSS Facebook



Thursday October 11, 2018

Kabul (BNA) Afghanistan and Ireland have grown leaps and bounds in the last one decade, especially in international cricket. Their performances in limited-overs cricket captured the imaginations of the supporters and the big daddies of cricket, so much so that last year they were granted Test status. Ireland were the first to don the white jersey in May against Pakistan at Malahide.
In June, Afghanistan, captained by Asghar Stanikzai (now Afghan), locked horns with India at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. Recently, it has been learned that the International Cricket Council (ICC) is pondering over organizing four-day Tests for the two emerging teams of world cricket. Geoff Allardice, the ICC general manager, updated about the same.
The game has evolved
“At the moment, (it’s about) trying to get opportunities for Ireland, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe in Test cricket against teams that are in the Test championship, from a fixturing point of view that works out better over four days than five,” Allardice was quoted as saying in Sport 360.
n the earlier days of cricket, the red-ball fixtures used to take place for three or four days. However, four-day Tests came to a halt in 1973. In October 2017, the ICC approved a four-day Test between South Africa and Zimbabwe, which ended in a couple of days. Meanwhile, Allardice reckons reducing the number of days from five to four won’t devalue the game by any means as it’s not a new concept.
“In terms of devaluing the game, regular five-day Tests is a relatively recent thing. If you go to the 1970s, New Zealand were playing mostly four-day Test matches. You talk of devaluing Test cricket, there is a lot of history that wasn’t based around the five-day game.
The percentage was reasonable, we had rest days in the past. The game has evolved. We should not see in a narrow snapshot of time,” he added.

Wednesday October 10, 2018

Kabul (BNA) The International Olympic Committee has elected nine new members, including 24-year-old Samira Asghari, an Afghanistan women's national basketball team player.
Two more women among the newcomers are Daina Gudzineviciute of Lithuania, a shooting gold medalist at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, and former nurse Felicite Rwemarika of Rwanda.
Six men elected by fellow IOC members are Camilo Perez (Paraguay), Giovanni Malago (Italy), William Blick (Uganda), Prince Jigyel Ugyen Wangchuck (Bhutan), Morinari Watanabe (Japan) and Andrew Parsons (Brazil).
The Bhutani prince, who was educated at Choate Rosemary Hall boarding school in Connecticut, joins the IOC as another Asian royal family member, Prince Tunku Imran of Malaysia, leaves after reaching the 70-year age limit
IOC members voted bobsled federation president Ivo Ferriani of Italy to their executive board representing winter sports.

Sunday October 7, 2018

Bamyan City (BNA) By participation of over 40 athletes cycling competitions was held in central Bamiyan province yesterday.
According to BNA local correspondent report, Zakia Mohammadi representative of cycling federation told, 12 girls’ cyclists have been participated in the competitions, in which Tahera Shaigan got first position, Zahra Bakhtayari second and Sadiqa Sediqi obtained third position of the competitions.
In another competitions, 30 cyclists have been participated from Kabul and Bamiyan province and by passing 60 km distance Rohullah from Kabul achieved first position, Akbar Faizi and Mehdi Mohammadi got second and third positions of the competitions.
Bamiyan is a provinces of the country that each year hosting sports, cultural and art festivals for improvement of tourisms.

Sunday October 7, 2018

Kabul (BNA) Nangarhar Leopards cricket team defeated Kandahar Knights cricket team by 6 wickets in the 2nd match of the Afghanistan Premier League 2018 held in Sharjah international cricket stadium.
Ben Cutting and Shafiqullah Shafaq shining very well for Nangarhar Leopards cricket team.
Nangarhar Squad: Andre Russell, Tamim Iqbal, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Ben Cutting (C), Shafiqullah Shafaq, Najib Tarakai, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Hafeez, Rahmat Shah, Naveen ul Haq, Zahir Khan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Fazal Haq, Nasrat Qureshi, Khaybar Omar
Kandahar Squad: Brendon McCullum, Wahab Riaz, Asghar Stanikzai (C), Paul Sterling, Kevin O’Brien, Najibullah Zadran, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Karim Janat, Tymal Mills, Sam Billings, Iftikhar Ahmad, Hamza Hotak, Karim Sadiq, Sayed Shirzad, Mohammad Naveed, Waqar Salamkhel, Abdul Baqi, Waqarullah Ishaq